top of page
Search

Pitch Black

I often write about poems of men saving the world,

And the need for positivity and general kindness,

But never understood why until recently,

And the reason why kind of surprised me and caught me off guard,

I write about heroes and general do-gooders,

Not because I believe that I am one of them,

But because I see the darkness that is within me,

I see the pain that I can cause,

I see all that I can maim,

And I see the need to tame,

Tame this anger and burning desire to cause pain because there is nothing to gain.

 

I feel the darkness that fights every day to take control,

And on most days that darkness,

Comes out and I find myself lost in thought,

Because of the battle that is currently being fought,

The battle that I have to fight everyday not to breakdown,

And lay down,

And as life’s hurdles get higher and higher,

I fear that my situation worsens and becomes dire,

And I slowly but surely descend into madness,

Because of my carelessness,

But I can't and won't give up,

Not yet,

For I still have a lot to achieve,

I still have a family to feed,

One that’s already there and the other one day to be born from my seed,

So, until the day comes that I succumb to darkness,

I will keep moving forward,

And if the darkness comes let it come,

I am ready to die,

For who I want to be is more important than who I was.



72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rebirth

bottom of page