top of page
Search

Rebirth

Today I dreamt of my own death,

I saw my body whither and return to the earth,

I saw my old soul slowly fade away,

and from the dust of the withering corpse

I saw a flickering light and I felt a rebirth begin,

I felt myself being reborn anew,

I felt new bone grow followed by sinew,

And as muscle expanded,

I saw vein and artery multiply,

Fill with blood,

and legs forming readying to pick myself from the mud.

 

But as my body regrew,

I already knew,

that a new storm was coming,

from the clouds that were slowly darkening,

I could feel that this storm wasn’t for everyone,

this storm was for me,

Born to test my body newly formed,

Ready to test my strength and resolution,

Unwilling to offer true absolution.

 

I feel the air brush through the hairs of my news formed body,

I feel them stand erect,

with my mind made up, I will not defect,

I will stand and face what comes,

I have been revived,

And my destiny has arrived,

So, as I take one step towards the storm,

I brace myself in my new form,

I feel my heartbeat and feel my blood flow,

And even in the cold storm I feel warm,

I know who I am,

I am the stubborn one,

The one born in the time of the ram,

The one they drowned but swam,

They one that feels the weight of regret's every gram,

I will not lose,

I move my and with my new body, my destiny I choose.



Photo by Paul Schafer on Unsplash

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page