top of page
Search

The seven deadly sins: My Sweet Gluttony

Gluttony means over-indulgence and over-consumption of food, drink, alcohol and other recreational drugs, or wealth items, particularly as status symbols.



I have had my share and I have eaten,

I have fought my enemies and I have had them beaten,

I have stood amongst the greatest of leaders,

I have had the spoils cultivated by the greatest of breeders,

I have tasted all the glory that comes with fame,

And I have made my father proud, I have lifted his name,

But all of this means nothing because I want more than what has been offered,

I want to consume all there was and all there is,

I want to consume in excess,

I want to consume no recess,

For I hunger, for all that is food and pleasure,

Money, power and sex are just a common currency,

That I consume daily, yet in myself I still feel a vacancy,

For my hunger will, never know dormancy.


I have had every pleasure that the flesh can offer,

Women, I have had them in the hundreds,

Men, I have led them in the thousands,

Whilst holding whiskey and gin,

I have as I conquered the world and secured my win,

Yet the next day I wake up sober,

With same unfulfilled ness of yesterday,

And even when I take a cold shower,

My mind drifts off into the ocean of thought for many an hour.


Thoughts of food, thoughts of him and thoughts of her,

Cloud my mind,

And I get so lost that myself I cannot find,

Hence, I find myself holding the bottle,

Drinking at full speed, maximum throttle,

And when I can no longer drink,

I drink some more,

Hoping that I may feel less sore,

And as result gluttony has offered me something that I never saw,

It has given me pleasure of being so full,

That I do have the strength to lose my cool,

Unfortunately, so had gone my ability to hold my stool.


I no longer care for those that want to lay on my bed,

Men, women and everything in between,

It does not matter for everything they have I have experienced and seen,

I contemplate if gluttony demands a sacrifice too high to pay,

But it has given me piece of mind every day,

Something that lovers and success could not offer me,

Freedom is what gluttony offered me,

So, as I lay as I can no longer stand,

I reach out for more even with my new enlarged hand,

And ask for more,

And I will do this for until the day that I go.




54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rebirth

bottom of page